Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Greenwich asks for congestion charge

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/6337499.stm

Comments

• Options
    Traffic is a "nightmare" around the centre of Greenwich - and Blackheath.
    As a local resident I would be all in favour of a local congestion charge if that cut down on the traffic.
  • Options
    I want everyone on 1 day to abandon the car or van and use public transport and see how the country gets on. Only the rich will be able to drive in the future which is wrong.
  • Options
    build a great big tunnel from New Cross/Deptford to the Blackwall tunnel and the A102, problem sorted!!
  • Options
    All for it
  • Options
    course you are, you can't drive !! :-)
  • Options
    [cite]Posted By: pete_tong1[/cite]I want everyone on 1 day to abandon the car or van and use public transport and see how the country gets on. Only the rich will be able to drive in the future which is wrong.

I'm not sure.

i pay £180 a month for my train ticket from dartford and past the initial outlay of buying a car (which i don't currently own) i think i would prefer to own a car.

now if only i could find that dream job near to me...
  • Options
    Red Ken's transport policy and fare increases are surely responsible for the continued congestion. Apparently, we have the most expensive public transport system in the world - this would seem to be sending the wrong signal to the proleteriat. Seems to me that if you have to pay a congestion charge, it may well make public transport cheaper, but then TFL can hike the fares up some more...so everyone ends up paying more and more and more for the same or worse level of service.

Worst thing is that the transport system falls apart after 11pm, with the exception of a few night buses...
  • Options