Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Happy with your Job? If not how would you change?

edited September 2010 in Not Sports Related
Following on from the school, university results thread, who is working in their chosen career? Also who would change and if so what would you do. Rock stars and footballers not excepted!!

For me, my career has taken many turns (I am a Project Manager for a publishing company), but at the moment it is not creative enough for me. If I were to change I would love to work on restoring old military vehicles, bringing something back from the scrapheap which is kinda creative I guess!! And of course gets me out the bloody office.

Comments

• My career certainly has it's moments but like most you have to put a lot in to get a lot out of it (well I hope so!). Waking up at 5:30am and working in the most awkward of locations isn't perfect but in this day and age you have to appreciate how fortunate you are to have a job.
  • Was I supposed to choose a career? I thought I just took vaguely related jobs!
  • I left 6th form at a grammar school with 11 GCSEs and 4 A Levels with the intention to turn my part time job at Sainsbury's into full time for a year before I went to uni to study geography before becoming a primary school teacher.

However a year working full time and seeing the money rolling in, coupled with being out of education for a year saw me dump the uni idea. I've been at Sainsbury's for 5 and half years now (4 of those full time) in a very important role (price controller - make sure all prices and advertising is correct in store...very legal and can cost me and the store a lot if it's wrong).