Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Only the strong will be staying, warns Pardew

Nice summary of our season so far from today's Independent on Sunday: http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/premiership/article2114454.ece

By Steve Tongue, Football Correspondent
Published: 31 December 2006

It was a parting shot, but a telling one, at the end of Alan Pardew's first post-match press conference as the manager of Charlton Athletic. The question was whether, like his two short-lived predecessors, Iain Dowie and Les Reed, he would be called "head coach". The answer was accompanied by the hard glare that disconcerts those who have marked Pardew down as just a nice guy. "I think anyone who knows me will know I'm a manager," he shot back before a smart exit stage left.

Fools will not be suffered gladly or otherwise by the new incumbent, and those who do not shape up will be shipped out in what promises to be a busy month of transfer activity. What Pardew has been looking for in the few training sessions permitted by a hectic fixture schedule is the sort of character required for a relegation fight. He found some deficiency in that area at West Ham, and although that is now a problem for his successor in the musical chairs of London management, Alan Curbishley, Charlton's third head-man in seven weeks, acknowledges that in an era of football millionaires, motivation is harder than ever.

"If you look through society you could argue that in a lot of trades perhaps the world's an easier place," he said. "There's more money around and that hunger and desire has to come from within. I'll quickly find out with the players here whether that's in them. For example, someone like Matty Holland could inherit £40 million tomorrow but the hunger and burning desire in him to win games will never cease. It's those characters that you want in your team and the ones who are not so strong will go."