Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Carl Jenkinson _ Charlton Youth Team to Man U

A report in The People this morning, suggests that Sir Alex Ferguson will add to his burgeoning squad of young players with the signing of Charlton Athletic defender Carl Jenkinson.

The 17-year-old is believed to be worth around £500,000, with Charlton in need of the funds after they were relegated from the Championship to League One.

Jenkinson, who has recovered from a serious knee injury, is a centre back by trade but can also play on the right hand side.

According to the official Charlton Athletic website, "Jenkinson likes to get forward with the ball" and "the Football Association is continuing to monitor" his progress after a serious injury.

I offer no opinion as I've never seen him play.

Comments

• Options
    Never seem him play, but he was called up for the England under 17 squad last season, don't know if he played or not. Personally I would like to see him stay at Charlton, I know we are short of cash but think it's time to hang on to our younger players and maybe we can move forward with them.
  • Options
    I think with the general economic climate and the uncertainty about the prospects for a 17 yo,if this were true then I would take the £500k and use it on an established player who can get us out of this league.
  • Options
    So first they were linked with McGinty, now Jenkinson?

I've seen him once, when we lost to Spurs in the youth cup. Played centre back, not as physical as Mambo, but more comfortable on the ball. Run with the ball out of defence a couple of times.

Looked more like a right back to me, I think that's where he'll break through at whatever level he's playing.