Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Les Reed interviewed in the Grauniad today

Link

Manager has worked with great and good but needs quick fix in Sheffield today

Paul Weaver
Saturday December 2, 2006
The Guardian

A boffin barked in the damp east London air this week. Les Reed, the new manager of Charlton, has been portrayed as the epitome of back-room, grey-suited anonymity and he is less than enthusiastic about the caricature.

In these pages two weeks ago the former FA technical director was represented as a small-branch bank manager who had suddenly been offered a prominent position in Threadneedle Street. "I saw that," he says. "I'm a Guardian reader, strangely enough.

"I get fed up with people who don't know what my background is. They make assumptions and that's frustrating. The people who know me know a different Les Reed to the one that's being assumed. People ought to draw conclusions about what I can bring to the job with my experience, not about my weaknesses."

He points out that he has the experience of managing people and big budgets. "Some ex-players who become managers have to go on courses to find out about managing budgets. And I have a decent reputation, I think, not just in England but round the world, of being a very good, highly competent coach."

Reed's background, he supervised England's youth and schoolboy sides and is an expert on computerised football data, may be untypical of Premiership managers but he likens himself to the continental style of coach.