Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

mortgage stuff - to all you financial whizzkids out there

edited April 2008 in Not Sports Related
today is the second time in a week I've been called and offered low rate mortages, I thought there was a credit crunch going on?

Perhaps the Bank's are looking for lower risk people while the markets in flux

Any one have a clue on this?

Comments

• abbey is the best at the moment,
  • If you are offered a rate below 6% then bite their hands off - unless its a fixed rate.

The mortgage market currently so silly its untrue. As a broker I get sent details of mortgage changes on a daily basis - today I've rec'd details from one lender offering a 3yr tracker at 2.25% above base (7.25%) with a 1% fee - even though their Standard Variable Rate is only 7%.........with no fee. For this you need 20% equity and a loan of at least £500,000. Therefore a £5k fee for a 3 yr product which above the SVR......unheard of 6 months ago and if anyone signs up for it they should be sectioned.
  • Nice that Golfie what language is that ?

Mortgage ha , i laugh in its face !
  • You wont get anying below 6% Best would be 6.25% if u get that, take a fixed rate for 2 years
  • [cite]Posted By: WhenIwasLittleBoy[/cite]You wont get anying below 6% Best would be 6.25% if u get that, take a fixed rate for 2 years

rates must have jumped a hell of a lot in the past few weeks then, good job I remortgaged when I did. when I was looking around there were loads around under 5.5%, although the fees were pretty steep, in the end stayed with good old Nationwide on another 5yr fix
  • [cite]Posted By: WhenIwasLittleBoy[/cite]abbey is the best at the moment,
    [cite]Posted By: WhenIwasLittleBoy[/cite]You wont get anying below 6% Best would be 6.25% if u get that, take a fixed rate for 2 years

Don't think anyone should/ can give advice like this without knowing someone's situation.